How to Use Breakout Rooms in Google Meet

Join 425,000 subscribers and get a daily digest of news, geek trivia, and our feature articles.
By submitting your email, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
Joe Fedewa is a Staff Writer at How-To Geek. He has close to a decade of experience covering consumer technology and previously worked as a News Editor at XDA Developers. Joe loves all things technology and is also an avid DIYer at heart. He has written thousands of articles, hundreds of tutorials, and dozens of reviews. Read more…
Google Meet logo
It’s easy for video conferences to feel overwhelming when there are a lot of people on the call. “Breakout Rooms” is a feature in Google Meet that makes it easy to divide into small groups. We’ll show you how.
“Breakout Rooms,” which can also be found in Zoom, is the same concept as working in small groups in a real-life office or classroom. You can all gather in the main conference call, break out into smaller rooms for a while, and then reconvene. This all happens in the same meeting.
RELATED: How to Use Breakout Rooms in a Zoom Meeting
First, you’ll need to be in a Google Meet meeting on your desktop PC that you started or scheduled. Click the shapes icon in the bottom right.

Select “Breakout Rooms” from the Activities menu.
Select "Breakout Rooms."
Click “Set Up Breakout Rooms” to get started creating the rooms.
Click "Set Up Breakout Rooms."
Now you can choose the number of rooms you want to have, set a timer for how long the rooms will last, or “Shuffle” the participants into groups. “Clear” will empty all the rooms.
Set up the rooms.
The rooms are listed underneath. You can simply drag and drop participants into the rooms as you wish.
Move people to the rooms.
Once everything is set, click “Open Rooms.”
Click "Open Rooms."
While the rooms are happening, you can also “Edit” them after the fact and “Close Rooms” when you’re finished.
In-rooms options.
Participants will need to confirm that they want to “Join” rooms before they can be added. When the timer is about to run out or you manually close the rooms, participants will see a 30-second countdown before they’re closed.
That’s all there is to it! This is a handy little feature to know about if you organize a lot of large conference calls. Rather than having a bunch of smaller, separate meetings, you can do it all right from the main call.
RELATED: How to Use Virtual Backgrounds in Google Meet
JOIN GEEK TALK ON FACEBOOK
Facebook
Instagram
Twitter
LinkedIn
RSS Feed
The Best Free Tech Newsletter Anywhere
By submitting your email, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

source

Digital Strategist Chris Hood

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2021 SHAQ HAX - Proudly powered by theme Octo